Cub Scouts Wolf BadgeA boy who is 8 years old or is in the second grade is a Wolf, and his adventures are found in the Wolf Handbook.  Wolf Scouts go to den meetings on their own, but their families still help them work on the requirements for the Wolf badge.

Like all other new Cub Scouts, a Wolf must first earn his Bobcat rank (if he has not done so already).  After completing the requirements for Bobcat he may go on to complete the requirements for the Wolf rank and the many electives that are offered for his rank.

The Wolf rank is earned by completing seven adventures as described below.

Wolf Adventure Requirements

Cub Scout Wolf handbook

  1. Complete each of the following Wolf required adventures with your den or family:
    a. Call of the Wild
    b. Council Fire
    c. Duty to God Footsteps
    d. Howling at the Moon
    e. Paws on the Path
    f. Running With the Pack
  2. Complete one Wolf elective adventure of your den or family’s choosing
  3. With your parent or guardian, complete the exercises in the pamphlet How to Protect Your Children From Child Abuse: A Parent’s Guide, and earn the Cyber Chip award for your age.

Cub Scout Wolf UniformA parent, guardian, or other caring adult acknowledges the completion of each achievement part by signing the boy’s handbook (Akela’s OK).  The den leader also signs each boy’s handbook (Den Leader’s OK) and records progress in the den’s advancement records.  As the boy completes each adventure, he will receive the adventure loop for that adventure, which he can wear on his belt.  When the boy has completed the seven required adventures, he can receive the Wolf badge at the next Pack Meeting.

After a boy earns the Wolf badge, he will continue to meet with his den, working on additional elective adventures until he completes second grade (or turns 9 years old) and becomes a Bear Scout.  He can choose elective adventures that may show him new hobbies and teach him skills that will be useful during his Boy Scout years.  When he completes an elective adventure, he receives an additional adventure loop to wear on his belt.

Next Step… Bear