Cub Scout Bear badgeA boy who is 9 years old or is in the third grade is a Bear, and his adventures are found in the Bear Handbook.  Bear Scouts also work with their families to do the requirements for the Bear badge, but boys this old have enough knowledge and skill to take on more of the work by themselves.

Like all other new Cub Scouts, a Bear must first earn his Bobcat rank (if he has not done so already).  After completing the requirements for Bobcat he may go on to complete the requirements for the Bear rank and the many electives that are offered for his rank.

The Bear rank is for boys who have finished second grade (or who are 9 years old). To earn the Bear badge, a boy must complete six required adventures and one elective adventure as described below.

Bear Adventure Requirements

Cub Scout Bear Handbook

  1. Complete each of the following Bear required adventures with your den or family:
    a. Bear Claws
    b. Bear Necessities
    c. Fellowship and Duty to God
    d. Fur, Feathers, and Ferns
    e. Grin and Bear It
    f. Paws for Action
  2. Complete one Bear elective adventure of your den or family’s choosing.
  3. With your parent or guardian, complete the exercises in the pamphlet How to Protect Your Children From Child Abuse: A Parent’s Guide, and earn the Cyber Chip award for your age.

Cub Scout Bear UniformA parent, guardian, or other caring adult acknowledges the completion of each achievement part by signing the boy’s handbook (Akela’s OK).  The den leader also signs each boy’s handbook (Den Leader’s OK) and records progress in the den’s advancement records.  After each achievement is approved, the boy receives an adventure loop to wear on his belt.  When the boy has met all requirements, the Bear badge is presented to him at the next pack meeting.

After a boy earns the Bear badge, he will continue to meet with his den, working on additional elective adventures until he completes third grade (or turns 10 years old) and becomes a Webelos Scout.  He can choose elective adventures that may show him new hobbies and teach him skills that will be useful during his Boy Scout years. When he completes an elective adventure, he receives an additional adventure loop to wear on his belt.

Next Step… Webelos